Western Athletics Club was officially formed on Sunday 8th July 2018 – bringing together two very proud clubs that are full of history and splendour - Western Districts Athletics Club and Henley Districts Little Athletics Club. Our uniform consists of the colours of both clubs and our logo “the lion” was formed after a joint OneClub Culture meeting where “pride” in our club and our community was the key. Our Western Little Athletics Club is based at Henley Memorial Oval and our Western Senior gym is based at Ellis Park, West Terrace next to Adelaide High School.
Western District Athletics Club was formed on the 20th February1929 at a meeting held in the Thebarton home of Mr C.V. Gibson and chaired by the then Mayor of Thebarton, Mr M Watson, who was to become the first Club President. . The members chose the club’s insignia of a white “W D” pierced by an arrow on a black back-ground. The first track & field competition conducted by the club was held at the oval of the Thebarton Primary School, in November 1929. The Western Women’s club was active from 1930, but officially established in 1942 and merged with the men’s athletic club in 1975, forming one of the oldest, largest and most successful athletic clubs in South Australia. Women members went on to build a proud tradition in the club, well emulating the men’s achievements in interclub, state and national competitions as well as producing some highly respected athletic administrators and officials. During the 1970’s, the club uniform was changed to a yellow top with a black insignia and braid with black shorts.
The club established its own ground in the parklands near West Terrace where the original "tin shed" was built, in a location close to the present clubrooms. In the gloomy days of the depression a number of other sportsmen joined the club to use the ground and its facilities where boxing and wrestling matches were regularly staged under the banner of Western Districts. In 1953 new clubrooms were built at Ellis Park entirely by voluntary club labour. In 2019 we moved into our new gym, which is part of the 3.4million dollar multi-purpose facility shared with the Comets Soccer Club. This was the same year that our club celebrated its 90th birthday.
Henley Districts Little Athletics Club was founded in 1988 by community members who had a passion for developing children of all abilities by promoting positive attitudes and a healthy lifestyle, through family and community involvement in athletic related activities.
The clubrooms are at Henley Memorial Oval which is a shared multi-purpose oval with the Henley Football Club. The club has a rich history in developing junior athletes and boasts some of the best Little Athletics Coaches in South Australia, which attracts many athletes and their families to our club. The clubs colours have changed over the years from green and black to blue and white with the running man logo.